Todd Love Suffering…I mean surfing

This is a buddy of mine, Todd Love, as you can see he is surfing. A simple act many people participate in everyday. Yet, you will notice something a little different about him. Todd is a triple amputee. He became an amputee when he stepped on an IED while serving in Afganistan as a Marine.

Todd and I have been friends for many years, and have had many conversations about life, love, and Christ. Now after the incident in Afganistan you can imagine our conversations have changed a bit in the way that we both view life. Many people soak into a depression because of the horrific things that has happened to them. However, I think this photo shows exactly the mindset and outlook Todd has on his life.

Todd will say that things are not easy and life is a struggle with out hesitation. However, there is a one thing that keeps him going. When we first hung out after the accident we discuss a verse, which is one of my favorite verse in scripture. Psalms 73:25-26 “Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Todd told me that this verse resinates so close to him because his body has been taken away, and things he loves to do has been ripped away from him. Life as he knew it has completely changed. I asked him “How are you keeping your peace and joy?” He answered “My flesh and my heart may fail but God is the strength.”

I hope this encourages you as it has blessed me. Life is hard and things unexpected may come our ways. But use Todd as an example of experiencing eternal joy that can only come from Jesus Christ.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

