I am unqualified

Since I have joined our current staff and watched the transition from NSD to VLC I have been overwhelmed with the feeling of inadequacy. Men and women who are all-stars in their ministry area surround me, and some how I have been placed in a leadership role at this church. I often sit back and think “Who’s idea was this to have me here… really!” I am a newly wed, very young, just figuring out life myself, and you trust me to do this…? By the worlds standard there is no reason I should have been in the running for this position.

 

As I continue to run through the reasons of why I am unqualified for the position I was reminded of a hard truth. Unqualified people are the people who God loves to use to do powerful things. I am reminded of the disciples. These uneducated fishermen were used to write God’s word. This doesn’t make sense there were brilliant scribes or even writers who in the world’s standards would be the first choice of writing any thing of importance. Yet he chose to use these uneducated fisherman to write and handle the most precious writing there has ever been. Why? Then it hit me…

 

Am I really doubting the author and sustainer of the universe? We are told in Isaiah that he holds the universe in the span of his hand! That power chose us to carry out his work. How foolish am I to doubt the work that God is doing inside me. All God does is transform people and things! He takes the spiritually dead and brings them to life (Eph. 2:1-10). Jesus even spoke and gave life to a literally dead person. (John 11). So this God who can take dead things and bring them to life and holds the span of the universe in His hand, I doubt His decisions to place me where He decided?

 

The conclusion is yes, I myself am unqualified for this task. But glory be to God that I am because He is at work in me. It is not my work but Him working inside me. He has promised “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” (Philippians 1:6). God has never broken a promise before, and this is a big promise He has made to each of us. REJOICE! In Ephesians 3:20 Paul writes, “Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us.” God is already doing work inside us far more than we can imagine. So the idea that we are unqualified to do any kind of mission work or serving is a lie from Satan. We have the Spirit doing amazing things inside us, and God by His grace uses people like us the weak, the broken, the unqualified so He will get the glory not us. I must trust in God and fully rely on Him everyday to complete the tasks ahead. I am unqualified and I am satisfied in Christ!

 

Soli Deo Gloria

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

